Relevé d’oiseaux à Abram-Village

Détails de l'évènement

Le 26 janvier 2019, 9 h à 13 h

Abram-Village, Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Inventaires et suivi

Appel à tous les ornithologues amateurs, expérimentés ou non! Conservation de la nature Canada (CNC) vous invite pour une sortie à raquettes sur ses propriétés du secteur d’Abram-Village afin d’y recenser la faune ailée hivernale. Toutes les données recueillies seront ajoutées dans la base de données d’observations d’oiseaux eBird, disponible en libre accès sur Internet. Il s’agit d’une excellente occasion de contribuer à un projet de science citoyenne et il n’y a pas de meilleur moyen, pour les ornithologues amateurs débutants, de se familiariser avec les oiseaux qui demeurent dans nos contrées en hiver!

Veuillez envoyer un courriel au personne ressource pour être mis à la liste d'attente.

Informations additionnelles

À propos: Abram-Village

La réserve naturelle d’Abram-Village longe la rivière Haldimand, à l’ouest de Summerside. On y trouve une forêt côtière et un vaste marais salé. Le secteur fournit des habitats essentiels à la sauvagine et aux oiseaux de rivage migrateurs. Le gouvernement provincial de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard en a d’ailleurs fait une priorité de conservation au milieu des années 1990. Depuis 2009, CNC œuvre à conserver ses zones forestières, ses milieux humides et son vaste marais salé.

Cette propriété est un paradis pour les passionnés des oiseaux : la sterne pierregarin, le pygargue à tête blanche, le jaseur d’Amérique et le chevalier semipalmé peuvent tous être vus sur les vasières ou entendus dans les milieux humides. Le rarissime bruant de Nelson a même été aperçu dans le marais salé. N’oubliez surtout pas vos jumelles!

Ce que vous ferez

Les bénévoles circuleront à raquette sur la réserve naturelle d’Abrams Village de CNC pour recueillir des données sur les oiseaux qui y demeurent en hiver. Le site présente divers types d’habitats, notamment forêt, plage, littoral océanique et marécage, alors nous espérons observer plusieurs types d’oiseaux. Les ornithologues amateurs débutants sont les bienvenus! À la fin de l’activité, nous irons à un centre communautaire local pour discuter de nos découvertes et nous réchauffer en buvant du thé ou du chocolat chaud.

Pourquoi vous aimerez cette activité

Il s’agit d’une excellente occasion de faire une sortie hivernale des plus agréables, tout en contribuant à un projet de science citoyenne! Vous pourrez rencontrer des gens qui ont des intérêts semblables aux vôtres, échanger des connaissances ornithologiques et prendre part à une merveilleuse aventure à raquettes dans la magnifique réserve naturelle d’Abram-Village.

Des questions?

Personne-ressource: Courtney: atlantic@conservationvolunteers.ca

Nota bene

Please bring your own snowshoes to the event if you have some. Please let us know if you do not have snowshoes. go!WestPEI generously offered to lend snowshoes to anyone who does not have their own.

NCC will supply scopes and binoculars, but if you have your own please feel free to bring them! We will also bring several field guides.

NCC will supply hot drinks and snacks at the end of the event, but please bring your own lunch.

Make sure to wear warm clothes and extra layers, as birding requires a lot of standing still!

Du covoiturage peut être organisé
Veuillez apporter vos outils
De l'eau et une collation seront fournies

Merci à la Fondation TD des amis de l’environnement et à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada d’avoir financé cet événement.

Liste de vérification pour les articles

Même si nous nous efforçons de vous fournir tous les articles nécessaires à l'activité, nous vous demandons de bien vouloir apporter avec vous ces articles si vous les avez :

Vêtements
  • Un manteau d'hiver
  • Un chapeau
  • Les mitaines
  • Les pantalons de neige
  • Les vêtements chauds
  • Les bottes
Outils
  • Les raquettes
  • Les jumelles (optionnel)
Divers
  • Un sac à dos
  • Lunch
  • De l'eau

Snowshoe and Winter Bird Survey

Event Details

January 26th, 2019, 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Abrams Village, PEI
Inventories and Monitoring

Calling all birders — experienced or not! Join the Nature Conservancy of Canada (NCC) as we snowshoe around NCC’s properties in the Abrams Village area to survey for winter birds. All data collected will be added to eBird , an online open-access database of bird observations, so this is a great opportunity to get outside and contribute to a citizen science project. This is also a great way for new birders to become a little more familiar with our winter bird residents.

If you’d like to carpool to the event, please click here to add your car or join a ride going to the event.

10 Spots Left
Sign up Now

More Information

About Abrams Village

The Abrams Village nature reserve is located along the Haldimand River, west of Summerside, and includes coastal forest and a large salt marsh habitat. This area provides important habitat for migrating waterfowl and shorebirds, and was recognized by the PEI government as a top conservation priority in the mid-1990s. Since 2009, NCC has worked to conserve forest, wetland and extensive salt marsh habitat here.

This property is a birder’s dream: common tern, bald eagle, cedar waxwing and willet can all be seen on the mud flats or heard calling from the wetlands. The rare Nelson’s sharp-tailed sparrow has been spotted in the salt marsh. Binoculars are highly recommended!

What you will be doing

Volunteers will be snowshoeing around NCC's Abrams Village nature reserve to collect data on winter birds found on the property. There are several different habitat types — forest, beach and ocean front, and marshy wetlands — so we hope to spot several types of birds. New birders are welcome! At the end of the event, we will warm up at a local community centre with some tea and hot chocolate to discuss our findings.

Why you will love it

This is a great opportunity to get outside for a fun winter activity, while also contributing to citizen science efforts! Volunteers will have the chance to meet others with similar interests, learn birding skills from each other, and enjoy a nice snowshoe adventure around the beautiful Abrams Village nature reserve.

Questions?

Contact Courtney: atlantic@conservationvolunteers.ca

Please Note

Please bring your own snowshoes to the event if you have some. Please let us know if you do not have snowshoes. go!WestPEI generously offered to lend snowshoes to anyone who does not have their own.

NCC will supply scopes and binoculars, but if you have your own please feel free to bring them! We will also bring several field guides.

NCC will supply hot drinks and snacks at the end of the event, but please bring your own lunch.

Make sure to wear warm clothes and extra layers, as birding requires a lot of standing still!

Carpooling can be arranged
We need you to bring some tools
Water and snacks will be provided

Thanks to TD Friends of the Environment Foundation and Environment and Climate Change Canada for funding this event.

Item Checklist

While we do our best to provide you with the tools you need to participate, please bring the following items if you have them:

Clothes
  • Good winter coat
  • Hat
  • Mittens
  • Snow pants
  • Warm layers
  • Winter boots
Tools
  • Snowshoes
  • Binoculars or scope (optional)
Miscellaneous
  • Backpack
  • Lunch
  • Water